Franck: Vieux Noël (FREE PDF) – Wind quintet


Instruments : Fl. Ob. Cl.(in Bb) Hn. Bsn.
Difficulty : C – approx. ABRSM Grade 5
Duration : 1’15

Free PDF


Vieux Noël is a delightful ‘miniature’ from César Franck’s L’Organiste.  He wrote L’organiste as simple, short pieces that could be used in Mass where the organist (usually playing on a harmonium, not a grand organ) was either untrained – or unable – to improvise.  The pieces are divided into volumes of seven pieces, each concentrating on two keys.

A few of the pieces are have a seasonal application – as here with Vieux Noel (Old Christmas).  Not your usual Christmas fare – but lovely nonetheless.

Free to download!


You may also like…