Gershwin: Promenade (Walking the Dog) – 4 bsns


Gershwin’s ‘Promenade’ a.k.a “Walking the Dog” was written for the Astaire/Rogers film ‘Shall We Dance’. Here playfully arranged for bassoon quartet.

  • Instruments : 4 Bsns
  • Difficulty : D – approx. ABRSM Grade 6-7
  • Duration : 3’30
  • ISMN : 979-0-708088-07-3
  • Portus Press reference : PPB1


Although the American composer George Gershwin is perhaps best known for his jazz-inspired musicals, which he wrote largely in collaboration with his lyricist brother Ira, he also penned a number of other ‘serious’ works including the immensely popular Rhapsody in Blue, a Piano Concerto, and the opera Porgy and Bess.

In 1936, following the completion of Porgy and Bess, Gershwin moved back to Hollywood and was quickly in demand as a film score writer.  Walking the Dog, or Promenade as it later also became known, was written as an instrumental number for Shall We Dance – the seventh movie pairing Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers. The music accompanies a sequence of walking a dog aboard a transatlantic ocean liner. It was written in 1936, not long before his tragically untimely death, aged just 38.

Score Preview


For copyright reasons this title is not for sale in the USA

You may also like…