Mozart: Eine Kleine Nachtmusik


Mozart’s Eine Kleine Nachtmusik needs little introduction, being one of the most recognisable pieces of classical music! Fabulous on four bassoons!

  • Instruments : 4 Bsns
  • Difficulty : D – approx. ABRSM Grade 6-7
  • Duration : 18’00
  • ISMN : 979-0-708088-18-9
  • Portus Press reference : PPB5


In 1787, whilst Mozart was working on his opera Don Giovanni, he wrote his Serenade No. 13 in G  k.525  – more commonly known as Eine Kleine Nachtmusik.   The work’s title is often inaccurately translated as A Little Night Music but is more properly A Small Serenade.  It has become one of the most recognisable pieces of classical music but it is not known why Mozart wrote the piece – or, more particularly, for whom he wrote it.

Originally there were five movements, but the second movement, a Minuet and Trio, has been lost, leaving us with just four: Allegro, Romance, Menuetto and a Rondo.

Score Preview

LISTEN – 1st mvt.
LISTEN – 2nd mvt.
LISTEN – 3rd mvt.
LISTEN – 4th mvt.

As part of Laurence Perkins’ International Bassoon Day the first movement of this piece was played on the steps of the Royal Albert Hall in London.  Wow – what a rendition and so wonderful to see so many bassoonists!!  Well done guys!:

You may also like…