Warlock: Two Cod Pieces


Warlock’s Two Cod Pieces (Beethoven’s Binge and The Old Codger) are hilarious send-ups of Beethoven’s 5th and Franck’s D minor symphony – humour ideally suited to bassoon quartet!

  • Instruments : 4 Bsns
  • Difficulty : C/D – approx. ABRSM Grade 5-6
  • Duration : 1’50
  • ISMN : 979-0-708088-63-9
  • Portus Press reference : PPB25


Writing under another characteristically eccentric pseudonym – Prosdocimus de Beldemandis senior – Cod Pieces were written in 1917 and are amongst Peter Warlock’s earliest compositions.  Originally they were to form part of a rather grand-scale music hall ballet (hence the original dance-band orchestration) although after four numbers the plan petered out and before long the whole thing was shelved.

Numbers three and four (Beethoven’s Binge  and The Old Codger) were published in 1971 in a transcription for piano duet – more than 40 years after Warlock’s life tragically ended in suicide.  Beethoven’s Binge is a hilarious send-up of the opening of the great composer’s Fifth Symphony whilst The Old Codger is essentially a ragtime spoof of one of the main themes of Franck’s Symphony in D minor.  The latter piece was dedicated to his music teacher at Eton College and there is evidence that it was played at London’s Selfridges and the Savoy Hotel – incidentally, where Warlock was born.

Score Preview

   LISTEN – Beethoven’s Binge
   LISTEN – The Old Codger

You may also like…