Gershwin: Rhapsody in Blue


Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue is an inspired piece of classical-jazz fusion here presented, for the first time, in an arrangement for wind quintet and piano.

  • Instruments : Fl. Ob. Cl.(in Bb&A) Hn. Bsn. Pft.
  • Difficulty : D/E – approx. ABRSM Grade 7-8
  • Duration : 16’30
  • ISMN : 979-0-708088-83-7
  • Portus Press reference : PPQP9
Sorry, this product is not available in your country Category: Tags: , ,


Having declined bandleader Paul Whiteman’s invitation to write a composition to be included in his concert entitled An Experiment in Modern Music, Gershwin was somewhat surprised to read that Whiteman continued to maintain that he was working on a ‘jazz concerto’.  A call to Whiteman revealed that a rival impresario had plans to put on a similar concert and, with just five weeks to go before the concert, Gershwin finally agreed to the commission.  Luckily, inspiration quickly followed during a train journey of which Gershwin recalled: And there I suddenly heard, and even saw on paper – the complete construction of the Rhapsody, from beginning to end….. I heard it as a sort of musical kaleidoscope of America.

Rhapsody in Blue was premièred (with Gershwin at the piano) in New York on 12 February 1924 where it was met with tumultuous applause.  Although it was far from being universally admired by the critics of the time this remarkable piece of classical-jazz fusion most definitely sealed Gershwin’s reputation as a serious composer and remains one of the most popular of all American concert works.

In this arrangement for wind quintet and piano the solo piano sections remain largely unaltered from standard versions although there are additional passages in a number of the tutti sections.

Score Preview

   LISTEN – 1 – Opening
   LISTEN – 2
   LISTEN – 3

For copyright reasons this title is not for sale in the USA


You may also like…